As Catholics, one of the most profound ways we encounter Jesus Christ is in the Sacraments. There are seven sacraments of the Catholic Church: Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Matrimony, and Holy Orders.


Through Baptism, we have new life in Jesus Christ. Catholic Baptism is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation.


In the Sacrament of Confirmation, one of the three Sacraments of
Initiation, Catholics are sealed with the Holy Spirit.



Jesus Christ is truly present in our midst. For Catholics, the Eucharist, or Holy Communion, (one of the three Sacraments of Initiation) is the most profound way we encounter the real presence of Jesus Christ.



The Sacrament of Reconciliation, one of the two Sacraments of Healing, is an encounter with Jesus that forgives sins and restores us to grace.

Anointing of the Sick
This sacrament unites a sick person’s suffering with that of Jesus and brings
forgiveness of sins. Oil, a symbol of strength, is the sign of this sacrament.
A person is anointed with oil and receives the laying on of hands from a

In Matrimony a man and woman are united with each other as a sign of
the unity between Jesus and his Church. Matrimony requires the consent of the
couple, as expressed in the marriage promises. The couple and their wedding
rings are the signs of this sacrament.

Holy Orders
In Holy Orders men are ordained as priests, deacons, or bishops. Priests serve
as spiritual leaders of their communities, and deacons serve to remind us of
our baptismal call to help others. Bishops carry on the teachings of the
apostles. The signs of this sacrament are the laying on of hands and anointing
with oil by the bishop.